Planning & Zoning Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission conducts public meetings and hearings for the purpose of reviewing and developing recommendations to the City Council on a wide range of matters pertaining to the physical development of the City. The Commission develops a comprehensive general plan for the community which, after adoption by the City Council, is a guide for the orderly development of the City by both public and private sectors. Members review zoning and subdivision ordinances, zoning changes, planned development proposals, and other items that are directed to them by the City Council.

The Planning & Zoning Commission meets on the first Tuesday of every month and reserves the right to schedule additional meetings as needed. All Commission meetings are held in compliance with the New Mexico Open Meetings Act (NMSA 1978 10-15-1 through 10-15-14) and the City of Elephant Butte’s Open Meetings Resolution.


  • Nathan LaFont – Commission Chair
  • Tami Smith– Commission Vice-Chair
  • Sheridan Fuss – Commissioner
  • Orlando Saavedra – Commissioner
  • Lee Morris – Commissioner
  • Mathew Casas – Alternative Commissioner
  • Lowell Pierson – Alternative Commissioner

Lindsey Cobleigh serves as staff liaison to the Planning & Zoning Commission. Questions for Commissioners can be directed to Lindsey Cobleigh at or 575-744-4892.